Intro to Women's Studies 2010

etsu: 2011-2014

A Day Without Feminism/ Baumgardner & Richards

Leave a comment

Being a female, 20 year old college student with a job, own apartment, in the year 2011 almost feels like a privilege after reading A Day Without Feminism. Among the other things we probably all almost don’t realize we may or may not take for granted, in 1970, privileges of simple things like receiving a prescription for birth control, getting a job as anything we’d like, renting an apartment wherever, were few and far between. While reading this, I was finding myself more and more captivated by it because of how I find myself not questioning the things I can do. I am able to take an auto shop class, if I ever had children I could opt to have daycare, etc; though those things were not such simple decisions for women in the 70s. It almost makes me feel even more proud to be able to do anything I want, anything a man can do. I feel as though I should do more because of the kind of suppression women surely felt then. At the end of the day, I am thankful for the bravery of women during that time who took a stand and now I am able to live a life not bounded by my sex.

Leave a Reply

