Intro to Women's Studies 2010

etsu: 2011-2014

Claiming an Education by Adrienne Rich

Leave a comment

This article is a call to women, not just to passively receive an education, but to claim it. It challenges us as women and as students to voice our opinions, because they are worth it. This article invites us to value our own minds, ideas, and opinions; to demand to be taken seriously.

I very much enjoyed this article. Honestly, it really pumped me up. It made me want to go to tell someone, particularly a man, everything I have ever wanted to say, but didn’t. I absolutely loved where Rich wrote, “It means that you do not treat your body as a commodity with which to purchase superficial intimacy or economic security; for our bodies and minds are inseparable in this life, and when we allow our bodies to be treated as objects, are minds are in mortal danger.” I have always been aware that as a woman, I had to protect my body from being viewed as a piece of meat, but I had never made the connection that my mind can also be disrespected in the same manner. Ultimately this article was empowering for me, and I think it will be a great thing to read in the future as a reminder to never sell myself short and to always give my own opinions and thoughts the respect they deserve.

Leave a Reply

