Intro to Women's Studies 2010

etsu: 2011-2014

Chapter 3:Learning Gender in a Diverse Society

Leave a comment

 Why is it that women are okay with being masculine and men are afraid to be feminine. In the introduction to the chapter were given examples of how men shy away from being called feminine. This is a result of the way society views femininity or men being feminine negatively. It stuck out to me because men fight so hard to be called masculine and not feminine, while women are okay with being called “tomboys” or masculine. We see how society views being women as a negative comment or making them a sissy.

As a woman, I am supposed to like to wear dresses, wait on the men in my life hand and foot, cook meals for my family daily, and wait on my boyfriend. I may like to wear dresses, however, I do not like to do many of the other things listed. I believe certain women do things like wait on the family and loved ones because they like to not because they feel like society thinks they should have to. Through chapter three I learned how society views femininity “below” and masculinity “above” and how that is not correct way women are portrayed.

Leave a Reply

