Intro to Women's Studies 2010

etsu: 2011-2014

When I Was Growing Up – Nellie Wong

Leave a comment

Wow. I guess I never really understood the stigma put on people of color. How terrible it must feel to think that the white man is better. Here is a woman who is openly expressing how she longed to be white and felt dirty due to her race. She could not see that her skin, her culture, herself as a person, were all beautiful. She wanted to run away to the “white” America that she always envisioned.

I have never been brought up to look down upon other races. This poem really hit me. It is so sad how race and culture have brought about so much hate, so much disgust. Neither race nor sex is a relevant issue. It is my hopes that one day no one of any color will feel that they are less of a person because they are not white. This truly saddens me.

Author: meganhackney

I am in my second year at ETSU. I love to have a good time and spend time with the ones I love.

Leave a Reply

