Intro to Women's Studies 2010

etsu: 2011-2014

When I Was Growing Up/Nellie Wong

Leave a comment

  This poem really hit home for me becuase i can completly understand what she is going throufh. I am Black , Cherokee , and Sioux, but at the same time I am darkskin, which if you know the stero type, indians are usually light skin.

  I use to wish that my skin was just a little bit light so that people would believe me. I have the high cheek bones, Prominent nose, and the so called ” GOOD HAIR”, but I still had doubts of my heritage from people. I use to think that I was ugly than my lighter counterparts because I was so dark. I use to say “Man, I could never get a girl like that ,because who would want to be with someone as dark as me”?

 It took many years for me to build the confidnce to the world ” I Do not give a damn about your opinon” and I thank God that he blessed me with such strength to say that.

Author: closkifbaybe

Hello,My name is Caleb Smith and I like to tell jokes (allll the time),listin to music to get my day started , and I am the only Male in my Women Studies class hahhahaha ,but I am actually enjoying it.

Leave a Reply

