Intro to Women's Studies 2010

etsu: 2011-2014

Virtual Gender-Wajcman

Leave a comment

This article is about how the internet can “transform gender roles”. It is about how females are “colonizing” the internet and how because there is a disconnection between our actual body movements and what people see, we can control the situation when talking to people via the internet. It also talks about how a nerdy, unattractive person has an advantage in cyberspace because they can become whoever they want.

I thought this article was interesting. I find it hard to believe that people have complete alternate personalities on cyberspace, but I know it happens. I don’t really think it’s a good thing though. I mean I know it’s cliche, but people should love you for who you are. I don’t see how anyone could have a successful relationship when they don’t even portray their true self to their partner.

Leave a Reply

