Intro to Women's Studies 2010

etsu: 2011-2014

What We Do For Love-Rose Weitz

Leave a comment

This article addresses how hair is a “central role in romantic relationship”. It talks about how women use their hair as a way to attract men. It also studies the “hair flip”.

I think hair definitely plays a part in a man’s attraction to a woman. My dad told me from the time I was five just how much he LOVED my long, dirty blonde hair (not that my dad’s attracted to me…ewww). The point is, I think men just love long hair on women. I think it’s a part of the ultimate male fantasy, and also it just seems very feminine, which men of course like. For me, my hair has always been a way to hold on to my identity. For instance, just about every time I am in a relationship for more than 2 or 3 months, I cut all my hair off. Not on purpose, its just a pattern I’ve found myself falling into. I think it gives me a sense of control to be able to choose my hair style and color. Although, I want to be physically attractive to whomever I’m dating, I also want to know that it’s ultimately my decision, and if they don’t like it, it’s okay, cause I do.

Leave a Reply

