Intro to Women's Studies 2010

etsu: 2011-2014

Don’t Give Up Your Day Job-Bruggink

Leave a comment

This article addresses the problems with women quitting their jobs after they have children. Leslie Bennetts believes that not working while raising children can leave women with economic and psychological issues. She points out that child-rearing is only for about 15-18 years and then women who try to re-enter the working world, find out it isn’t very easy. She also talks about women who become stranded after a divorce because they chose to not have a career after having children.

I think this article makes some really good points. I don’t think being a stay at home mom is wrong because I had one myself for most of my life, and I really think I benefited from it. But, I also don’t think working mothers are neglecting their children. I think every woman is different and has to decide what’s best for her and her child. I think it’s important to think about the future though. Like what if your husband died or lost his job? Things like that are important to consider when deciding whether to stay at home.

Leave a Reply

