Intro to Women's Studies 2010

etsu: 2011-2014

Dancing Toward Freedom//Brooks

Leave a comment

This article tells the story of one black dancer who works at the Lusty Lady. As her experience continues, she realizes that she does not have the same opportunities as the other dancers because she is black, and this article explains her actions in trying to fix this injustice to her. The black dancers at the Lusty Lady did not receive the opportunities to dance in the private rooms, which is unfair because the private rooms is where the most money is made. She was further angered because the white dancers who did work the private rooms were petitioning to make even more money. So she started her own petition to try to get more black dancers to work in the private rooms, too. This article explains how while the workplace did become more fair, it cost them the right to petition and discuss politics at work.

This article bothered me for a couple of reasons. The first of which is that I thought that if any workplace was fair towards all of its employees, it would be one that was run by a female who had previously worked in that position. I found it strange that even in a place where most people believe there would only be equality, there is still judgment and injustice. The second thing to bother me was the fact that I had the first thought. Shortly after I had the thought, I realized that it was not fair of me to put that sort of pressure on anyone. It is not fair of me or of the author of this article to say that because the owner of the Lusty Lady is a woman that she should have the ability to make all work environments completely fair. I know that I would not enjoy that sort of pressure on my life, and I don’t understand why we, as women, think that if a woman was in charge, everything would be better.

The author of this article was correct. It is not fair that she was discriminated against because she is a black woman, but it is also not fair that both she and I thought that the boss should have been able to make this injustice go away because the boss is also a woman.

Leave a Reply

