Intro to Women's Studies 2010

etsu: 2011-2014

If Women Ran Hip Hop/ Aya de Leon

Leave a comment

After reading this poem, I immediately youtube’d the title in hopes of finding someone reading. I found only one video and it was of Leon reciting it herself with a little twist (not word for word). As I read this poem I knew it was one that had to be delivered by mouth and not by the book. It runs on yet has a soul, a beat to it. I love hip hop music, all music really, but hip hop has definitely lost a touch of reality and its nice to hear a real woman, a real activist speak up and bring rhythm to actual powerful words and statements. I wish there were more successful, like super star fame woman activists, rappers like Leon. She’s not commercialized and she embraces her curves, and her skin color. I also thought about after watching her videos, if one could make a contrasting example to her and someone like Nicki Minaj or Katy Perry or any other super famous woman performer.

I’ll share the two videos I watched of her; one is the one of her on stage performing her piece If Women Ran Hip Hop and the other is a preview for a documentary movie that was to be premiered at a San Francisco LGBT film festival.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xJ3LLXoaOC0

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wh1DuIlk6Jk&feature=related

 

 

Leave a Reply

