Intro to Women's Studies 2010

etsu: 2011-2014

Chapter 9

Leave a comment

Reading this chapter and watching Miss Representation made me realize how sad it is that we live in a time that the internet, television, movies, and music draw out the picture of what people should be like. Younger children actually think that if you don’t look like the girl off their favorites shows, then your wrong or ugly. It’s sad to say but I really do not think that our nation will ever be able to get away from this and away from the stereotypical media. I’m actually afraid to see what will be posted on the internet or in the movies whenever I have children because I’m positive that it will be worse. It pisses me off that film makers and musicians have gotten away with this and have so much control of peoples minds. I’m not going to say that I’m perfect and I don’t try to be like what I see on television because I do, and everybody does, to a certain point. It’s just said to see that you “have” to “look good and feel sexy to get a man” in our society.

 

Leave a Reply

