Intro to Women's Studies 2010

etsu: 2011-2014

Religion and Spirituality in Women’s Lives- Ch. 12

Leave a comment

I have a big problem with this entire chapter. Women are constantly taught in church to be submissive to their husbands, and in most churches it is not ok to have  a woman who is the preacher. I really don’t understand why it makes a difference who is preaching the word of God as long as the message is being given to those who are learning about it! In my house there was never a question of whether or not my mother was going to make her own decisions. I had a lot of friends growing up who would ask their mother’s if they could do something or go some where and their answer would always be, “You’ll have to ask your dad.” I never understood why their fathers were in charge of making all the decisions when in my household my mother and father decided on most everything together. I think a lot of the reason why women think that they should hand over any decisions that need to be made over to their husband because they are not capable of deciding for themselves! Just because men have a different sex organ than we do doesn’t mean that we are inadequate and it really bothers me that even in the 21st century people don’t understand that! There is a HUGE difference between being religious and being controlled by the words of scripture that are being misconstrued by members of a church. If we aren’t equal in God’s eyes then I seriously don’t think there is any hope for women who are seeking equality in the eyes of men.

Leave a Reply

