Intro to Women's Studies 2010

etsu: 2011-2014

Religion and Spirtuality in Women’s Lives/ Ch. 12

Leave a comment

I really enjoyed this chapter and it was probably in my top 3 favorite subjects. I grew up going to church and never really noticed the roles that are played in the church until I entered this class. I think that it is really sad that I never realized any of the separated roles. I think it is ridiculous that things were and are the way they have been. I have never met a female preacher, nor will I think I ever will. Reading about the different religions also was very interesting because I have never studied into that and I was completely clueless. I thought it was absolutely absurd that in Israel some women will jump into a fire after their husband passes. A male would NEVER do that for his wife, and I must say I would never do it for my husband. I think it is crazy that they expect that from a wife. Sadly, I don’t think things are going to change much and if they do I believe it will be very difficult to make that change.

Leave a Reply

