Intro to Women's Studies 2010

etsu: 2011-2014

100 years ago… Chapter 1

Leave a comment

While going through chapter one in our book, I came across a table. It’s not so much that I was shocked at the content of the table. It was the fact that it was only in the last 100 years that some things were made possible.

I knew that women only earned the right to vote in the 20th century. I also know that 100 years seems like a long time ago. But when you really think about it, it’s not. I am 30 years old. Having family members that are over 100 has made me a little more open minded to what they went through.

I don’t know that I would have been able to accomplish my goals that I have set for myself had I grown up then. I wouldn’t be able to attend school. I wouldn’t be able to vote. Nor would I have had the choice to use contraceptives. I also wouldn’t be able to provide for myself or my children like I do now. I would have had to been in a loveless marriage to make sure my children were provided for. I wouldn’t be able to work so therefor couldn’t provide for them.

How could you have survived back 100 years ago?

Leave a Reply

