Intro to Women's Studies 2010

etsu: 2011-2014

A Day Without Feminism

Leave a comment

A Day Without Feminism was a very interesting article to read. I love the history aspect of the article and to see how women were expected to act in the 1970’s. This was by far my favorite article and really stuck with me because times have changed so drastically. The most surprising thing i read was that to be divorced, one person was required to be at fault. With the dividing of property and settlements, one person has to be at fault also. If she gets divorced, she is looked at as a shame to her family and an easy target for men. Another point that surprised me was that if a woman has a procedure to see of she has breast cancer, the doctor will not consult her before performing a Mastectomy on her. That blows my mind that doctors would do that in the 1970’s.

I’m glad that times have changed and women have more rights. I feel like its important for women to have rights and stand up for their beliefs. The fact that women can run for President now means so much to me and that women can be whatever they want to be with out restrictions.

Leave a Reply

