Intro to Women's Studies 2010

etsu: 2011-2014

Are the “Privileged” Really “Privileged”?

Leave a comment

Before I became enrolled in this Women’s Studies class, I didn’t really consider myself to care much about the equality in women and men. It wasn’t that I didn’t think it was important; maybe because I haven’t felt effects from the gender inequalities on a personal level (…I’m sure I have, just haven’t recognized them). While reading the book, topics stuck out to me, not necessarily ones that I agreed with either. I do see how gender inequality has played a huge role in society; however, I feel that it is becoming less of a problem. One of the readings that stuck out to me was “White Privilege and Male Privilege” by Peggy McIntosh. While reading through this I felt that a lot of the concepts and points were mostly outdated and irrelevant to this point in time. A point that I did agree with was when she stated, “Moreover, though “privilege” may confer power it does not confer moral strength.” This is unbelievable true. People have so many perceptions of what a privilege really is. So, with that said, who is to say that anyone is truly “privileged”? I feel that if people are going to base being privileged on material things and statuses in society then that is almost shallow to me. And maybe that’s just how things are, unfortunately. It is better to look at the bigger picture and think about how much people may be gaining internally by not really being “privileged” at all.

Leave a Reply

