Intro to Women's Studies 2010

etsu: 2011-2014

Double Bind

Leave a comment

I think that Frye gives a great example of young girls being put in a double bind by the way people talk about being sexually active. I feel that I did not encounter others being put in a double bind until I entered high school. At my high school if it got around that you were sexually active at such a young age then you were called a “slut” or “whore”. I do not think this is a fair assumption to make about someone unless you know them very well. Even if that is the case is it still ok to make that assumption?

In high school I had a good bond with most of my teachers and I came to realize that they too were classifying young girls, whom they had in classes, as sluts. On the other hand, young females who chose to not be sexually active are looked at as innocent, but some might think you have something wrong with you. This is a lose-lose situation, but it happens to young girls in their everyday lives. Frye states: “The “punishment” comes in the form of criticism, snide, and embarrassing remarks, being treated as an easy lay for men, scorn from her more restrained female friends” I feel that this passage from the reading gives a clear description as to what females go through if they are sexually active at a young age.

Leave a Reply

