Intro to Women's Studies 2010

etsu: 2011-2014

The Rights of Reproduction

Leave a comment

I wanted to share about reproductive rights in my blog post because I actually wrote my women’s health issues paper on sterilization. It was not until this class until I even realized what a tole forced sterilization took on women many years ago. Not only was it demeaning to women, but it was making politics personal. According to the theory of eugenics, women of lower class or women who have disabilities should not be allowed to reproduce for the “betterment of society” as a whole. I mentioned this theory in my paper, as does the book, and it just does not make sense to me at all. Maybe some “disabilities” can be genetically passed down to offspring; however, just because someone is not fully able or of a higher status in society does not mean they should not be able to produce. In my opinion, it is tampering with God’s choices. Women of all race, social status, and ability should be able to have children just like anyone else. I am so very thankful that now, for the most part, sterilization and birth control are purely the choice of the woman.

Leave a Reply

