Intro to Women's Studies 2010

etsu: 2011-2014

Women’s Work

Leave a comment

Throughout the time we have been discussing women’s work, whether it be inside or outside of the home, I’ve come to one common conclusion that it has changed over time. Luckily for us, we are now able to hold well-paying jobs outside of the home and not be limited to the duties of simple clerical work or household chores. While we have been discussing this I have looked to my mother and my father as a means of comparison. Both of my parents hold outside jobs yet they still both contribute to the house work such as vacuuming and dishes. Despite that, my mom usually tends to the inside work and my dad usually tends to the outside work such as mowing and pressure-washing the house. Now, that is only because he is physically stronger than my mom and can manage such tasks. He still helps my mother with chores that are completed inside the house as well. I can’t help but thank all of the women in the generation before me that have given me an actual opportunity to hold a paying job. 

Leave a Reply

