Intro to Women's Studies 2010

etsu: 2011-2014

Blog for 10/25 Stay at Home Moms

Leave a comment

This is a topic with a lot of controversy. Society says that women are supposed to stay at home and take care of children and tend to the house and cook all day. However, we also hear that women should be more independent and work outside of the home to help with income. Well this is a double standard. Obviously we cannot do both. I personally believe it is a choice the woman makes based on her own personal beliefs and desires. I think it is great if a family can afford to have the mother stay at home, but that is not possible for many families. I realize there are many studies that show children benefit from a stay at home mom at least for the first few years, but my mother always had a job. I never felt that I was missing out on time with my mother. She was always home by 5 o’clock every night. Because of her job, my sister and I were able to spend time with my grandmother which was such valuable time to us. I know that every situation is different though. My best friend had a mother that stayed home with her and her brother from the time they were born until she turned eight-teen. I’m sure that she loved having her there all the time, especially when she needed her, but I know she would often get frustrated with it as well. I think that each family should evaluate what would work out best for them and the mother should be in control of the final decision.

Leave a Reply

