Intro to Women's Studies 2010

etsu: 2011-2014

Half the Sky

Leave a comment

Watching Half the Sky broke my heart and really caught my attention. I had no idea that women were going through such a horrible thing. After watching it, it made me realize how lucky I am to have the privileges that I do. I think it is so unfair that women are being raped and beaten by their husbands and other men. I respect the women in Umoja. They have a lot of courage. 130 million are circumcised and during the operation their legs are tied os the woman doesn’t kick. They leave a tiny hole so the woman can urinate. The genital mutation leaves scar tissue, it rips and tears, and damages the women’s organs. If the woman is pregnant they have to cut her open to get the baby out. In my opinion no woman should ever have to go through that. My favorite quote from this movie was from Etnia, she said “Before you learn to do it with your hands. you have to learn to do it with your heart.” I really wish more people could help these women, because they deserve help and they do not deserve to get beaten or raped.

Leave a Reply

