Intro to Women's Studies 2010

etsu: 2011-2014

Half the Sky

Leave a comment

“Half the Sky” was a very inspirational and eye-opening documentary.  Before watching this video, I had never heard of genital mutilation, or many of the other trials these women face throughout their daily lives.  It broke my heart to learn that many of them have just accepted the way they are treated.  They welcome genital mutilation and choose to live with abuse. I am so glad that someone took initiative to tell the stories of these amazing women, as well as the stories of ladies like Edna. These women are truly making a difference.  It really inspired me to know more about what’s going on outside of my own world, and it also inspired me to do something that really matters with my life.  I am currently pursuing a nursing career, and after watching “Half the Sky,” I would love the opportunity to volunteer with them at some point in the future.

Leave a Reply

