Intro to Women's Studies 2010

etsu: 2011-2014

Miss Representation of Women

Leave a comment

I enjoyed the Miss Representation video very much. The video has made me realize that so much goes on in the media that I didn’t know did. It was very hard to watch all of the girls who were picked on for not being as sexy, skinny, or smart as the girls they had to be around daily. I do not understand why women have to be sexy to be perfect. Honestly that is the only way to survive as a woman it seems. The statistics in the video of everything surprised me beyond words. I definitely help the media out by watching all of the popular shows like gossip girl. I watched all of the seasons and still continuously do. When I watch the show it makes me want to be like Blair or Serena and it shouldn’t be that way. Now that i’ve watched this video I am more aware of what is going on and have noticed everything they said while watching TV. God made us all perfect in his eyes and more women should think about that when they begin hating their selves because of the media. We are so fortunate to have the bodies we do. Women are so much more than nice boobs, a hot body, and a nice butt. Hopefully more women will have the opportunity to watch Miss Representation like I did. I know from experience they will realize the media does nothing but make you feel horrible about your self and women all around need to put a end to it. 

Leave a Reply

