Intro to Women's Studies 2010

etsu: 2011-2014

Miss Representation

Leave a comment

The “Miss Representation” video really opened my eyes to the degree to which women are exploited in the media. Granted, I was aware of the issue before watching the video, but my mindset was that of someone who just accepted the issue because “that’s just how it’s always been.” After watching the video, I see that the media is the driving force behind how we see ourselves, and that we see ourselves through this demented lens that requires weighing 110 pounds and having the perfect body, hair, and complexion to be beautiful. My favorite segment in the video was when they had Condoleezza Rice speaking, and she said that the fact that we limit our governmental leadership so much based on (I think they said) about six percent of the population and such a huge chunk of our overall population isn’t heard, and that is a real loss to the world. Not our country–the world. Another statement that opened my eyes was that Afghanistan and other countries have more women in government than–arguably–the most powerful country in the world. It’s just sad. And I have the notion that many women feel as though I did, and refuse to recognize that this is a major problem in our society.

Leave a Reply

