Intro to Women's Studies 2010

etsu: 2011-2014

Response to Orange is the New Black

Leave a comment

I really enjoyed that episode we viewed in class. I was so drawn to it, it made me want to look at more episodes. Besides the fact that I enjoyed it, I would like to get down to business. I think that episode was very raw and did not try to hide anything. I feel that realness is what TV needs nowadays; TV that is going to show you what is really going on, whether you like it or not. As far as assumptions go, that episode was quite comical how they tried to portray each race. Although some of those perceptions or stereotypes may be true, it was not true about everyone. I thought that all the comments from each race toward each other were very rude and disrespectful for the most part. I think even sometimes my own race puts themselves in a box. For instance, when the African American lady said that she wanted to get fried chicken in the prison because “all black people love chicken”. I can oppose to that because my mother, a African American woman does not eat chicken at all. So for one to make that comment, that is what I mean by my own race “boxing” themselves. Overall, I think that our society and especially women should be lifting each other up instead of tearing each other down. I say this because all through the episode it seemed that every woman was looking out for themselves. Why not help everyone? We are all in this world together.

Leave a Reply

