Intro to Women's Studies 2010

etsu: 2011-2014

Intersex

Leave a comment

How awful would it be to find out that you were “assigned” the wrong gender? For most of us we dont even think about our gender and what gender we were raised, but the statistic of how many kids who are not able to be identified as what gender they are is shocking regardless of how low that statistic may be. I would be utterly crushed if i later in my life found out that I am actually a male. I’m not sure that i would want to switch to my actual gender if that was to happen to me. I have grown up as a girl and have identified myself as one, not to mention that i have learned “how” to become one. I personally do not even understand why intersex kids are made fun of and discriminated against because in what way was that any of there fault? But i guess thats the whole idea behind discrimination. No one asks to be different and no especially asks to be made fun of for it.  I think that intersex children have life a lot harder especially if they are assigned the wrong gender because how are they suppose to just switch genders after living in the gender they have been? It’s hard for me to wrap my mind around it, but i am blessed to not have this issue. 

Leave a Reply

