Intro to Women's Studies 2010

etsu: 2011-2014

Different Views of Marriage

Leave a comment

In today’s society marriage is traditionally seen as one man and one woman. Some view it as a man and a man or a woman and a woman, but not many typically take into consideration polygamy. Like most, I have heard of it before, but I have never really understood it. Since watching the videos in class, I understand where the people involved were coming from. Some of the women in the video said that they were brought up in polygamist families. If that is how you were brought up, then why would you believe any different? I never took in to consideration their backgrounds or history behind it; I just immediately pushed the idea out of my head. After watching the videos I definitely have a different opinion about it. I think that it would be really tough to have a marriage situation with more than one wife or husband, but I respect the ones who do for fighting through it and becoming a family together. One of the other things we talked about in class was polyamory. I think it happens today more often than we realize. The way I perceived it in class is just having more than one love. If you really think about it, even just someone cheating on his or her boyfriend or girlfriend could technically be considered polyamory if the person was in love with both people. On the other hand, it can just be a big group sharing love with each other. Polyamory confused me a little bit at first, but I have a little bit better of an understanding now.

Leave a Reply

