Intro to Women's Studies 2010

etsu: 2011-2014

Polygamy and Polyamory

Leave a comment

Before this class, I had only briefly heard about polygamy. I knew there was a reality show on television about it, but I had never watched it. The whole idea of it actually just confused me. I did not understand why more than one woman would want to share one man. Up until we talked about it during class and watched a video about it, when I thought of polygamy, I had negative feelings towards the men who were a part of it. Now that I know a little more, I do not really have those same feelings. I know that I shouldn’t have judged them in the first place. It really is not any different than how I was raised where marriage was simply between one man and one woman. The women in the video explained how they were pretty much born into that lifestyle. I was completely shocked that one of the wives said that she had 67 siblings.

Another topic we discussed, I had not heard of at all before. We watched another short video clip about polyamory-loving more than one. I cannot say that I could begin to really understand that. To me it seemed like they just did not want to settle down with one person, so they had a group of people so they could have options when they got tired of one person. Maybe there is more to it that I just don’t understand, but again, I think a lot of it has to do with what kind of situation a person is raised in and around all of their life.

Leave a Reply

