Intro to Women's Studies 2010

etsu: 2011-2014

Prostitution as a Career?

Leave a comment

I have always had a negative opinion of prostitution. I have been raised to always respect myself including my body. I have never thought of prostitution as a career. I didn’t understand how someone could sell their bodies to people for money.

I did, however, learn quite a bit from watching Scarlet Road in class. After meeting Rachel who is a sex worker, I now have been exposed to a type of prostitution different than what the general society makes it out to be today. Rachel takes pride in what she does. I never thought someone wanted to make a career out of being a sex worker. It blew my mind. Rachel said that she like to make others happy. If that is her way of helping others, then I can’t degrade her for that. I expected Rachel to be stereotypical prostitute, but she was a very nice and likeable person. Rachel tends to do business with people with disabilities. She thinks they should live a normal life just like everyone else.

Although I don’t agree with sex working or prostitution, I learned that not everyone will have the same views as me in life. I also believe that Rachel is a kind-hearted woman and I respect her for being passionate about her career.

Leave a Reply

