Intro to Women's Studies 2010

etsu: 2011-2014

Sex Work as a Career

Leave a comment

In class we recently watched a video called Scarlet Road. I never knew that there were places in the world where a sex worker was legal. It was a really different way of looking at what most people would call prostitution. Rachel, the sex worker in the video, did seem to be very sweet and kind-hearted. She actually cared about her customers and making them feel special. I was surprised to learn that she had a boyfriend though. I do not understand how she would not feel like she was cheating on him, but if that is what she chooses to do, then it is her choice. She really must be a nice person to be around though if her boyfriend can be okay with her job as a sex worker.

Although she is happy with her job, I just do not understand how people can even be in a relationship with that kind of career. How would her boyfriend really know if she was being any more intimate with him than with her customers? I also felt kind of uncomfortable during the video when people were setting their children with disabilities up with a sex worker and paying for it. I know that all people have needs, but I worked with special needs kids when I was in high school, and I would have never imagined their parents setting stuff up like that for them. I know the people in the video were older, but still not that much older. I guess like with all careers, you have to love what you do to do it, and Rachel seemed to love her job as a sex worker. In the end I guess all that matters is that she is happy with her job.

Leave a Reply

