Intro to Women's Studies 2010

etsu: 2011-2014

Sex Trafficking and Rape

Leave a comment

It is so crazy and scary to think that sex trafficking can be going on right in your city all around you anytime and you do not even know it. Until class today, I did not know that there was so much sex trafficking going on in the world around us and how long law enforcement spends planning out how to try and stop it. I also learned how gangs have went from selling drugs to make money, to child sex trafficking. People really should be careful on the internet so that they do not get sucked into that. They can lure kids in on the internet by telling them how pretty they are, and then it just goes downhill from there.

I also learned several things about rape culture in class today. Although it is a smaller percentage than that of women, I had never thought of men getting raped. It was astonishing to me that one in six women are raped or attempted rape. I find it very annoying and rude when people say things like “she asked for it” or “she wanted it.” I do not care how a girl dresses, I do not feel that she is asking to be raped. Females should have the right to dress however they want without having accusations like that made about them. I found it interesting that they have anti-rape wear such as hairy-leg tights and female barbed condoms. I am not really sure how women would know when to use stuff like that, but at least they have that option.

Leave a Reply

