Intro to Women's Studies 2010

etsu: 2011-2014

Scarlet Road

1 Comment

The Scarlet Road is a documentary we watched on April 1st about sex workers in Australia. I had no idea that prostitution was legal in parts of Australia so I was kind of caught off guard from the beginning. As the documentary continued, I was surprised again that these particular sex workers advocated and practiced having clients that possessed severe disabilities. Part of me thought “Oh, how sweet?” but the rest of me still believes prostitution is wrong, so the ends don’t justify the means in my opinion. I can understand that these people are trying to make a positive difference in the lives of the disabled, but at the end of the day I can’t agree with it due to my religious beliefs. When the woman the documentary centered around travelled to England to meet the family of the boy whose mother wanted to get her son a prostitute, I noticed something that I’ve seen in society. This woman was actively trying to help her son lose his virginity, in most societies men are expected to lose their virginity young, it’s not considered something precious. Whereas, with most women, we’re taught that virginity is something to be protected and daughters aren’t encouraged to have sex by their parents like sons are. That double standard really bothers me. What’s fair for the goose is fair for the gander, so to speak. But, I digress. The documentary was for the most part, pretty strange to me, but I guess I’d rather see women and men that choose to be sex workers than watch the heartbreaking stories of women and men that are forced into these lifestyles.

One thought on “Scarlet Road

  1. nice observation about the double standard when it comes to virginity.

Leave a Reply

