Intro to Women's Studies 2010

etsu: 2011-2014

Polyamory in a Monogamous World

Leave a comment

It is no secret that monogamy is viewed as the “norm” in today’s society. Being in a monogamous relationship with the member of the opposite sex is seen as the default setting, as you will. Anything else – being single, being gay – requires an explanation. However, some argue that this is a very narrow worldview and the human race would benefit from a broader view, especially considering scientific evidence. There are many species in the animal kingdom who do not adhere to monogamy. Several “couples” in the documentary “I Love You. And You. And You.” practice a polyamorous relationship. That is, they are in a romantic/sexual relationship with multiple people at once. They face several challenges – public perception, jealousy, logistics of the relationship – but many of them seem happy with the arrangement. Although I could understand the desire, I’m not sure I could see myself in this kind of relationship. One relationship is definitely enough for me to tackle at once. However, I admit that it’s an interesting dynamic to study.

Author: lindseypresnell

I'm a sophomore in college, pursuing a creative writing degree. I was born with hydrocephalus and diagnosed with bipolar disorder in my late teens. This blog is just a place for me to document my journey and to share what I've learned along the way. I've come to find that the darkness is less scary when you're not walking through it alone.

Leave a Reply

