Intro to Women's Studies 2010

etsu: 2011-2014

Motherhood: The Big Question

Leave a comment

We, as a society, seem somewhat fixated on whether or not a woman is going to have children. Then, once they have them, the new question becomes “Stay-at-home or working mom?” To be honest, my answer to those asking the question would be “None of your business” but that wouldn’t silence the debate. My mother was a stay-at-home when I was really young. I was born with Hydrocephalus and needed a lot of care. Her working was just not an option. However, as I got older, she began to take small jobs outside the home. Though the selfish part of adolescent me wasn’t all that fond of sharing my mother with her work, I could also tell that working made her happy and it didn’t mean she loved me any less. Once again, it all comes down to choice. A woman should be able to stay at home with her kid or work and not have anyone say anything about it.

Author: lindseypresnell

I'm a sophomore in college, pursuing a creative writing degree. I was born with hydrocephalus and diagnosed with bipolar disorder in my late teens. This blog is just a place for me to document my journey and to share what I've learned along the way. I've come to find that the darkness is less scary when you're not walking through it alone.

Leave a Reply

