Intro to Women's Studies 2010

etsu: 2011-2014

Mother’s Mothery Duties

Leave a comment

In class the topic was about the best mother. I feel I disagree with society, that because a mother is a stay at home mom, that it does not make the child independent. From personal experience (not as a teen mother), my mom and dad were married. She was 22 and he was 21. He was a chief petty officer in the navy (A big title for someone that young I might add, GO DAD!) Anyways, my mom did go to college, but when she had me my dad did not want her to work, he wanted her to stay at home (she could work if she wanted to).  As from what my mom told me she did not regret it at all, she said she was able to say she attended the mother teas and lunches when I was younger. Most mothers cannot say that because they are working. You know what else? My grandmother who is a nurse also did the same thing, instead she had five kids, she also went back to school and my grandfather was supportive and a big help with things that needed to done around the house. This was also the same for my great grandparents. Call me cliché, but I actually would like to do the same. I want to FIRST get my degree in nursing and also become a nurse practitioner AND THEN have a family. My point is, I don’t want people thinking that it is just a terrible thing to be a stay at home mom 🙂

Leave a Reply

