Intro to Women's Studies 2010

etsu: 2011-2014

Bechdel Test

Leave a comment

I don’t intend to give anything away on the paper that I am writing about the Bechdel Test, however I wanted to discuss my thoughts about the topic. I began to try and brainstorm some movies that could pass the test and here are a few I thought of: The Wizard of Oz, The Secret Life of Walter Mitty, The Hunger Games, The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, Gone Girl, Dallas Buyers Club, and Girl Most Likely. I tried to include movies from many different genres. My point however is not to look down on the Bechdel Test, it is a very hard test to pass. The hardest part is not even the initial thinking of said movie, rather than remembering which specific scenes could possibly validate your observation. I also began to think about the question presented today regarding why might the movies with more women cost less to make. I have no facts to back this up, but my thinking would be maybe movies that include more men usually have more action and violence which would call for not only more props but also possibly stunt doubles. The Wizard of Oz, Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, Girl Most Likely, and even Gone Girl probably did not qualify to have any stunt doubles therefore that alone would save tons of money. I’ve already started to learn that this topic could be discussed for forever (literally as long as movies are being produced) therefore, I will leave it at that for now.

Leave a Reply

