Intro to Women's Studies 2010

etsu: 2011-2014

The Invisible War

Leave a comment

So many horrible things get covered up by the media and the government that it’s almost repulsing. The movie The Invisible War made me cringe. Many people I know have considered joined the military and a great deal of my family consists of veterans. There was even a time last year when I considered joining the forces, but never even considered that rape would be a dominant concern with me being a woman. The movie makes me skeptical about how little veterans truly expose about their time serving. Both of my grandfathers are veterans, and I have never heard them mention anything about their time serving. I would think a time so dominant in their lives would be mentioned more, but I guess it’s just because the horrors of it are to great to bring into the civilian community. I wish the government would do something to prevent rape that may actually have an effect; unlike the posters and videos they think are going to solve problems. The documentary made me see things in a new light and I’ve lost some respect for the commanding officers considering they refuse to help innocent women who have been scarred for life.

Leave a Reply

