Intro to Women's Studies 2010

etsu: 2011-2014

Miss Representation

Leave a comment

While watching Miss Representation, I found myself in a mixture of emotions, I couldn’t tell if I was angry or shocked or frustrated, or disappointed, or probably a mixture. As I was watching the movie it really made me think, about what I do in my own life, about what I have learned from the media, and what I have learned from my family, and if there was really a difference? I’ve always known that women and men were not equal, but then I would just think about how far women have come, and that we are making progress, and that was the end of it. But in watching this movie, it has made me realize how wrong that type of thinking is, and how women’s progression really has come to a halt.  I was disgusted during that clip, where it was a compilation of men from the radio and TV talking about the women in politics, and what they were and how they look. None of it should matter, and yet it does. I am guilty of this myself, I watch the gossip shows, and read the magazines, and look at what the reporters are wearing. This movie has made me really think about myself, as a women, and the women who I surround myself with. Miss Representation was interesting and inspiring, and I really enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

