Intro to Women's Studies 2010

etsu: 2011-2014

Fish out of Water

Leave a comment

I am a Christian, and I was raised in a very conservative household. Throughout my upbringing, I was always told that being gay, lesbian, bisexual, etc. was a sin. However, I was also taught that as a Christian, I am to love others for who they are so that they can see God’s love shine through me. Although I do not yet feel comfortable talking to my parents about this issue because they can be quite close minded, those two things cannot go together equally. If I do not show love to other people regardless of their sexual orientation, how will they ever see the real love, grace, and mercy that my God offers? Today in class we watched Fish out of Water, which is a movie that discusses Christianity and beliefs on various sexual orientations. This movie pointed out several points that I had honestly never heard. Although I will still need to do research on the stories and Bible verses that it discussed, I believe the big picture that the movie discussed was that sexual orientation is mentioned in the Bible very few times, while the word “love” was mentioned over 600. Regardless of a person’s sexual orientation, I will strive to show them the love, compassion, and joy that God has brought me.

Leave a Reply

