Intro to Women's Studies 2010

etsu: 2011-2014

I am a Feminist.

Leave a comment

I officially added Feminist to my twitter bio. I had to think about whether or not I fit the criteria so I referred to the definition. Feminism-the advocacy of women’s rights on the grounds of political, social, and economic equality to men. This is a good solid definition that I feel many women live up too. However, I challenge to make it more. During the first day of most classes teachers will go around the room asking students what their major is. Listening to the women this is what I hear, ” teacher, nurse, teacher, nurse, nutritionist, teacher, nurse.” Why not Dean, why not Doctor? Are we programmed to fall into these brick casings that can never be changed? I challenge you to make your mold out of clay and allow yourself opportunity for change. I am an exercise science major. More than likely I will be working to some capacity in the sports industry. In a full sports law class I was one of three girls. It may be a little harder for me to make it to the top, but once I do they won’t know what hit them.

Leave a Reply

