Intro to Women's Studies 2010

etsu: 2011-2014

FGM

Leave a comment

I had heard of female genital mutilation from my brother a few years ago but I thought he was over exaggerating on what exactly happens. Watching Half the Sky has opened my eyes so much to just how lucky I am to have been born here in the USA. Watching the video made me think what if that was me, what if I had been born there and became a victim of FGM? It is so wrong what they do to these 5-8 year old girls.  I am so amazed at the woman in the video that has helped so many women just because she felt so moved to do so. Nobody forced her to give up everything she had to build a hospital to take care of all of these women, she just did it out of the kindness of her heart. I hope to be able to impact something, someone, in a positive way like she did.

Leave a Reply

