Intro to Women's Studies 2010

etsu: 2011-2014

How to Lose Your Virginity

Leave a comment

The video we watched today in class, “How to lose your virginity” was very interesting. It was fascinating to hear different peoples points of views about virginity and what makes you a virgin or not. I grew up in church and I was always told to save myself for my husband, which means to not have sex until I find a man that I love and marry him. Not only did my church drill that in my head but so did my parents. In middle school, I signed a purity card. By signing the card I promised to wait until marriage to have sexual intercourse. Now that I am in college, there are not many people that are “virgins” anymore because people change and make their own choices. But what exactly makes you a virgin or not? In the video, some people said that when you lose your virginity you have vaginal intercourse, oral sex, masturbating, or even just sticking a tampon into your vagina. In my opinion, when someone loses their virginity is when a penis is inserted into the vagina. That is the only way someone can say they are not a virgin anymore is when they have vaginal intercourse. So far I have kept the promise to not have sex until I am married. Although, it is not because I grew up hearing it or I signed the card. I am saving it for someone I love, because I believe sex is a very special connection between a man and a woman. It should only be shared between someone you love.

Leave a Reply

