Intro to Women's Studies 2010

etsu: 2011-2014

Women in the military

Leave a comment

I had always heard about women being sexually abused in the military but I never realized just how often it happened and how much it affects the women that it happens to. The film we watched in class opened my eyes a lot to this and I realize now that I am glad I never joined the military and I never want to. I don’t even want my kids to or anyone close to me. Not only are women victims of sexual abuse in the military, but men are as well. The long term affect it has on these individuals is life changing and it makes future relationships hard because they can’t really trust people. It changes how they feel about themselves in a way that they don’t feel worthy or even have the want to live sometimes. I hope for the future that things change so that the brave individuals who enter the military don’t have to worry about someone in their own group or “family” sexually abusing them.

Leave a Reply

