Intro to Women's Studies 2010

etsu: 2011-2014

Women in the Military

Leave a comment

Most of my family has been in the military at some point in their lives, but I knew that the military was not the place for me.  My dad constantly pushed me to consider the possibility of joining.  After watching The Invisible War, I feel like I made the right decision for me.  I completely respect everyone in the military, but I know that the military has an image to preserve.  They will cover up serious issues just to avoid the negative criticism.  Women are raped daily in every branch of the military and, most of the time, nothing is done about it.  Women are even often afraid to report that the problem has occurred because they tend to not be taken seriously.  In my opinion, more needs to be done to help console this recurring problem of violence against women.  Women deserve the same respect as men.

Leave a Reply

