Intro to Women's Studies 2010

etsu: 2011-2014

Women in the Military

Leave a comment

A big part of living in the United States and being a “free” country is because of the military. Without the military we would not be where we are today. Many of my family members have been in the military including my dad. He was in the Desert Storm. Now that I am college I have been trying to figure out what to do for the rest of my life and my dad has mentioned going into the military. Being in the military has tons of benefits, but the only way he was even going to consider me going into the military was if I became an officer. As a woman in the military being sexually assualted is very common, especially if they are enlisted. This is why it was better to become an officer over enlisted. Although, I have decided not to go into the military, but not because there is a chance I can be sexually assaulted. I just feel like I can serve my country just as well here. If women want to go into the military I say go for it but just be aware of what could happen, and if they could become an officer they are better off anyway. Plus as an officer they make a lot more money and when they retire they are promised a job.

Leave a Reply

